An Olympics lesson in loyalty

Values, branding, participation, trust.  What do these things have in common?  I’ll get back to that in a second.

I’m currently on an Olympics high.  Last night I was privledged to watch the Opening Ceremonies dress rehearsal.  I’m not a gushy person but I felt the swell of pride at particular moments, surprise at others, pure amazement at the special effects and I downright pounded my fist in the air when I saw which singers performed.  Yep, I know just about everything that’s going to happen on Friday night and you’re never going to hear it from me.

Here’s why:  the audience was asked for absolutely secrecy on the details of the event.  But the reason why I’m not giving you the dirt is not because I don’t want to ruin the surprise for you.  Believe me, I am desperate to spill my guts to someone.  However, you won’t hear the details from me because it’s the Olympics, people!  I know, the event has become quite a commercialized event, huge cost concerns, etc.  But I believe in the core spirit of the Olympics – the Olympics really is about the athletes, a showing of national pride while welcoming everyone into the city.  It’s about excellence, culture, sports!

So going back to my original question on what values, branding, participation, and trust have in common… loyalty!  I won’t reveal the secrets of the ceremony because I was entrusted along with thousands of others with this top secret information.  With that trust, I got to participate in one of the most important events of the Olympics!  I believe in the values behind the Olympics and wouldn’t want to betray that.  And well, it’s the Olympics, I just wouldn’t want to reveal something so important to other people.

Imagine what we could do if we could build that kind of loyalty and spirit into our organizations!

Go Canada Go!

Leave a Reply

