In the end, it’s not all about me

Hello readers!

I started this blog back in March 2009 as a way to get my thoughts out about HR with minimal boundaries.  I didn’t have any specific deadlines to meet, structure to follow and I could speak in the first person all I pleased… in the end, Fireside HR was all about my thoughts on the new world of HR.

What attracted me to blogs as a format was the flexibility and usability to the reader.  I liked how people could easily subscribe to regular blog updates though the email subscription link, RSS feed, or Google Reader.  Or, people could just pop back onto the site and read anything new whenever they felt like it.  I liked how people could Google whatever they wanted to learn about HR, or type in even random words like “HR Jerry Maguire” and Fireside HR would be the 4th result.  I liked how I could refer readers to other great blogs I was reading on my Blogroll.

When I started blogging, I had no clue what I was doing.  I had only started reading HR blogs about 6 months prior and got a feel for the style but I had none of the techical knowledge.  I borrowed WordPress for Dummies at the Burnaby Public Library and started piddling around.  Don’t get me wrong, I’m not a fearless adventurer but starting a blog during this time was easy to do because so few people were blogging in the HR space – if I goofed, it wouldn’t be that big of a deal because there was no template to follow and we were all learning at the same time!  Besides, I barely had two readers to start so it didn’t matter a bit.

Also, I had a bit of writer’s block to start.  I mean, I had ideas and I wrote them down but I was paralyzed by the notion that others would read them.  Perhaps even people I knew!  After a few months of blogging, the Scott paper towel syndrome went away and I stopped being absorbed about what people potentially thought of me.  People may love or hate my ideas, writing, style, whatever – it didn’t matter.  This was me, an HR’er who had something to say and just liked writing.  Why not just give ‘er and see what happens?

Well, what happened was that people started to read, chose to comment on the stories and chose to link their blogs to mine.  And now over a year since starting this blog, some brave ones have chosen to join me in this adventure.

Enough of this solo-ride, it’s time to start sharing as my mother taught me.  Starting next week, this blog will feature seven new writers, all from BC, all HR and business pros.  All of them have something to say, are talented, and are willing to put themselves out there.  I bow down to you.  Thanks for taking this on, thanks for taking me on, let’s strap in for the ride.


Helen Luketic, Blogger in Chief

One Response

  1. […] soon be reincarnated to something even better.  Like any good story, this blog had a beginning, a middle, and now an end (or E.N.D.).  Sad to see it go, really.  When I was seven years old, my family […]

Leave a Reply

