Do it your own way, RFP that is.

Recently I have been part of picking vendors for everything HR.  To speed up the process, I decided to keep the RFP part to myself and gather the information via research and one on one meetings with all vendors; this way I could assess those non-tangibles.

When I was done with the process, I decided to put the top two vendors to the test.  The one who on paper and in person seemed to blow the competition out of the water ended up not meeting our service levels and what they communicated.  I was delighted to see that the runner-up didn’t just meet my expectations, they delivered better quality, faster service, and were able to pivot on the spot for our company needs. 

My lesson learned – the right decision isn’t how good you do your research, it’s based on reality.

Editor's note:  RFP is Request for Proposal


Agata Zasada is a junior HR generalist in a fast paced company no one in Vancouver ever has heard of, lululemon athletica.  She has three years of experience in HR supplemented by a BBA in HR. Outside of her love for her career, Agata has been learning to run as well as practicing yoga (mainly Savasana), and is known for her witty humor.
Leave a Reply

