I cried at work, and it’s ok

I am very passionate about what I do.  Everything in life is either full on or just off.  When I make mistakes, I am very accountable to fixing them.  When someone gives me feedback I take it as a gift and not a personal attack.  I am committed to my work, just like everything else I do in life.
 
My fear in life isn’t dying, getting ill, never falling in love, growing old alone, not being successful, but disappointing those who I respect (or love).  So when I make a mistake at work that disappoints my boss/bosses that I trust and respect I get upset, when I feel upset I cry.

So why does even Martha say “women in business don’t cry” when clearly I did?  I read multiple articles after crying at work and there is a lot of tactics and strategies on how to deal with a crier or if you are the crier, but when it boils right down to it, aren’t we all just human?  Why can’t we behave at work the way we would outside of work?  Why do we need to be robots at work and emotional wrecks at home?
 
My incident has made me more open, better understood, and more – of what drives my performance, motivates me, and what I am truly passionate about.  Today, I am taking a stand for all the criers out there and say its okay to cry (sometimes).


Agata Zasada is an HR generalist in a fast-paced company no one in Vancouver ever has heard of, lululemon athletica.  She has three years of experience in HR supplemented by a BBA in HR. Outside of her love for her career, Agata has been learning to run as well as practicing yoga (mainly Savasana), and is known for her witty humour.

5 Responses

  1. My name is Stephanie, and I’m an at-work crier.

    Whew! That feels good to get that off my chest. Thanks for posting Agata, I’m sure there’s more people than we realize who have shed a tear or two in the workplace. Likeyou said, we’re human and when we care about our work, sometimes emotions can overtake us.

    I definitely try to be discreet, and it’s certainly not a habit, but I would recommend an emergency stash of makeup at your desk (and hopefully you have an office with a door!).

    A little touch up will make you feel better, and help you move on with your day.

  2. Thanks Stephanie,
    It was really hard for me to post this, but I got some good advice something along the lines of “grow some balls and just do it.” I really feel that there are many people (both men and women) have cried at work.

    My remedy is having an escape to a roof top patio!
    Cheers,
    Agata

  3. You’re so welcome Agata, we’re all human, and a roof top patio definitely cures all! 🙂

  4. Good for you for posting. We’ve all cried (or made mistakes, or done something embarrassing) at work. Many people are just not ok with announcing it, to the world. I’ve always thought, that it’s not that you cry at work, its how you handle it afterwards that demonstrates your character.

    For the record it was “strap on some balls” not “grow some balls”.

    Holly

    • Too funny how I completely changed it from strapping to growing. Much more effective and faster than growing. I should have known. 🙂

Leave a Reply

